Wednesday, September 27, 2017

WorthyKids/Ideals The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Book 1 & 2 Review

My family had the privilege of reading the first TWO books in the series, The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls, from WorthyKids/Ideals for this review to use in conjunction with our own homeschool curriculum. This is a Homeschool Review Crew Review. All opinions expressed are my own or those of my family.

WorthyKids/Ideals is part of the Worthy Publishing Group. This is the kids' books division of the Christian and inspirational publishing. This line of colorful, interactive children's books includes such notable titles as: VeggieTales and Berenstain Bears. They reach the top 10 best-selling children’s books during the Easter and Christmas seasons each year.

M.J. Thomas is a scholar in Bible studies and an author to The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls book series. When his son Peter was 9 he tried to find books that taught about the events in the Bible in a enjoyable, exciting, and captivating way. He didn't find any, so he decided to write his own. The main characters of the stories are named after his son Peter, his niece Mary, and his dog Hank.

The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls by M.J. Thomas are a time-traveling adventure book series that helps kids explore the Bible and increase in faith. These stories combine biblical accuracy with mystery, wonder, imagination, adventure, danger, and excitement. Peter, Mary, and Hank have discovered ancient scrolls that help them travel back in time. These scrolls have clues to solve and the three must solve them before time runs out or they will become stuck in the past forever. You will also meet Great-Uncle Solomon, the eccentric archaeologist who discovered the scrolls, and the angel Michael, who aides the children on their quests. These are recommended to emerging readers ages 6-9, homeschooling families, and others that love adventure.

There are two books in the series currently:
  • The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Beginning (Book #1)
  • The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: Race to the Ark (Book #2)

In the first title of the series, The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: The Beginning, we first meet Peter, Mary, and Hank as they come to stay with their Great-Uncle Solomon while their parents go on a long trip. They soon find some ancient scrolls that unlock the ability to time-travel through history, and more specifically the history of the bible. The first scroll they open takes them to the beginning of creation. They experience the creation of the earth, meet an angel of God, ride dolphins, rhinos & elephants; and duel a devious snake in the Garden of Eden. They also discover they must find clues and solve a puzzle on the scroll before the seventh day ends or they could get trapped in the past permanently. Will they succeed?

In The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls: Race to the Ark the call of the lion beckons them once more to open another scroll. They are thrust into a land where no one is nice except for a family that has built a large boat...yes, you probably guessed it...Noah's family and his Ark. This time the trio is brought to Noah's time where they meet two troublemakers and an evil man named the Dark Ruler. Peter, Mary, and Hank help get the animals on the ark and everything ready for the impending flood, but then things start to go wrong and the Dark Ruler gets a hold of the scroll. Will they solve the clues and get back to their own time before they get swallowed up by the great waters?

Teela Reading The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls The Beginning book.

How We Used This and Our Thoughts:
Teela, my nine year old daughter, and I read these books separately. The first has 107 pages and 12 chapters. The second book has 118 pages and 13 chapters. These were both a quick, fast paced read for the both of us. We both thought the books held our attention well. They also have some black and white drawings here and there in the books that were fun and at the end of each book there is a page that has where to read the actual story and synopsis in the authors own words of the chapters in the bible. These books had a lot of action and adventure throughout which made them fun to read.

I liked that the story basically follows with what happens in the bible fairly well. Even though there are fictitious elements in these the kids traveling in time...they tell the story from the bible and make it come to life. Teela loved all the imaginative things that the author adds to make it seem like you are also there with main characters. The scrolls were a great idea also to make it even more of a challenge for the trio to get back to their time.

Teela and I enjoyed reading these books from The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls series. We love that these Christian kids books teach kids about the bible. These have a great lesson also to trust in God and he will always be there for you. We liked the action and adventure as well. These were fun books to read. We hope to be able to read more books from the series once they come out.

Follow Them on Social Media:

Purchase these on Amazon or Barnes & Noble, here.

Read other homeschool reviews for WorthyKids/Ideals The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls Book 1 & 2...
The Secret of the Hidden Scrolls. {WorthyKids/Ideals Reviews}

Crew Disclaimer

No comments: