Thursday, June 18, 2015

Joy Williams Venus Album Review #JoyWilliams #O2O

I participated in the Joy Williams Venus album review program as a member of One2One Network. I was provided an album to review but all opinions are my own. By posting, I am eligible for incentives. Affiliate links may be in this posting. Thanks for supporting my blog.

You may know Joy Williams as the other half of four-time Grammy-winning folk-rock duo, The Civil Wars. The group had a hiatus in 2012 and eventually broke up in 2014. Williams undoubtedly felt like she was drowning with the band's break up, having a baby, fighting to save her marriage, and her Dad's terminal Cancer diagnosis. Through all her trials Williams reevaluated and reinvented herself and made a new album.

Her new album, Venus, is her first solo album. This album is something totally new and different than The Civil Wars' two albums. I love that this album brings out Williams' vocal range and now her style is becoming all her own. Williams opens her feelings to all of us. This album comes from her heart and what she was/is still going through. By the lyrics in her album I can tell this was an excruciatingly painful time for Williams. Break ups rarely are easy and with everything else going on in her life the making of this album must have been a fantastic release for her. I love that this album is also about reclaiming yourself after hardships, not letting them cage you in, and moving beyond them.

My favorite songs on this album are Before I Sleep, Until the Levee, and Welcome Home. I love the imagery both of these songs create. Before I Sleep has great percussion. This was the first song she created for the album and it fits so well after the breakup. I love the beautiful lyrical symbolism in Until the Levee. Welcome Home is such a great ending to this album. It is such a powerful song.

This whole album is a wonderful emotional ride. The lyrics are very passionate and healing. I have enjoyed listening to the songs over the past few weeks and I believe that it is the perfect addition to my music collection.

Track Listings
  1. Before I Sleep
  2. Sweet Love of Mine
  3. Woman (Oh Mama)
  4. One Day I Will
  5. Not Good Enough
  6. What a Good Woman Does
  7. Until the Levee
  8. You Loved Me
  9. The Dying Kind
  10. Till Forever
  11. Welcome Home

Here is the Woman (Oh Mama) Music Video...

Follow Joy Williams
Official Joy Williams website: 
Twitter - @joywilliams


DISCLAIMER: Thanks to One2One Network for sending me a free full album download of Venus to listen to and review and the information to share with my readers. My post is also eligible for a gift card via random drawing by One2One Network. My thoughts are mine and my family's own opinion and have not been altered by anyone else. I did not receive any other compensation for doing this review. Affiliate links may be in this posting. Thanks for supporting my blog.

No comments: